my 1st violin exam

Okay, so here’s the deal. One year ago, I was posting “the 4th exam” as it was the 4th time I went to “Cisatu II” to have my skill examined by one big Mr. British Man who is a big achiever in music major.

Oh, and good news. I passed that exam *LOL*

Back to the topic, now the place of the exam have been changed. I went to “Kiai Luhur” instead of “Cisatu II”. I don’t like it. It is hot, dusty, and quiet filthy.

And I thought,

It’s okay. The exam room maybe lit up a lil bit, for this place looks like cheap resto…

But unfortunately, it was destined not to be lit up. *sobbing*

Like usual, the participant must attend 1 hour before the time of the exam. I was there by 11 o’clock, and my exam was 11.45. So I waited and reviewed my scales and arpeggios. I don’t know why, but violin’s scales are a lil bit harder than piano’s.

First of all, you don’t have the key in violin. It’s all about feelings, and then my teacher would be soooo mad at me he’d said I’m crazy. *LOL*
Second, your hands walk a straight-line on piano. On violin? Different stories guys. 4 different strings. 4 different tones.
And third, I just can’t, and I am lazy but awesome. *LOL*

So, by 11.45 I am very nervous but remained to stay calm. For God’s sake, my teacher is really indifferent. =_=

And the funny thing is, this is the very firstAssociated Board of the Royal Schools of Music exam that wasn’t on time. Actually I’m kinda glad. I have the time to open my violin case because the case can’t be brought to the exam room.

Ms. Long Black Hair: “Aurel?”

Me: “Yes”

Ms. Long Black Hair: “Now’s the time. Follow me.”

FYI, I really really hope that the exam room kinda BIG because it reduced the feeling of your claustrophobic thought. And it kinda nice to stand in the big room that bigger than you, and not stand in the room that make you LOOK very BIG!

And that happened. The room is very very tiny I can’t breath. If my violin’s bow is 2 centimeters longer I’ll definitely looks like somebody stupid who can’t play the violin. >_<

20.10.09, 12.04 AM

Mr. Another British Man: “Hellooo…” *British Accent*

*Smile smile smile, don’t forget, but he didn’t even smile*

1st, 2nd, and 3rd pieces, I felt like my bow has its own will =.= The tones vibrated by themselves. *sobbing*

20.10.09 12.14 AM

Mr. Another British Man: “Let’s do the aural for 3rd grader”

And like usual, like my story at the 4th exam, I can’t sing. It all went AAAAAA!!!!!! but I don’t think that is the tone that the Mr. Another British Man is looking for.

And suddenly~~~

Mr. Another British Man: “Okay, thank you. You may go now, don’t forget your pieces”

Outside the room

What the hell just happened? =.=

Explanation: My 7th grade piano exam went by 25 minutes, and this one went by only 14 minutes. See the different?

Conclusion:

I really like music, but the grogginess and nervous system in my head always played me. *LOL*

Hope this one went smoothly and I got good grades. 🙂 and I think I wanna do the 8th graders exam next year. Hopefully 😀

from.the.one.who.never.stop.dreaming

4 thoughts on “my 1st violin exam

  1. Hi

    Thumbs up ! I came through this one while searching for the topic “How to prepare for the first grade exam for violin?” At the age of 24, I m a beginner in violin. (Started two weeks ago to be precise.) I hope I’ll be able to master it because I practice like mad now.

    Thanks for this interesting article! And Hope you’d scored extremely well for your exam!

  2. This reminded me of the ABRSM piano exams i took before! It was so scary until that i can remember until now>.< anyway good luck ya hopefully u pass the exam with flying colors:)

  3. [at]Celia:
    Thanks Celia. I hope you like violin and you would be an awesome violinist. Never too late to learn something new 🙂

    [at]shuwen:
    Wew, what grade did u took, shu? The last piano exam is very scary for me too, its like halloween movie *lol*

  4. my last was 7, didnt manage 2 take 8 as by that time i went to kl 2 study edy. The exams were really like nightmares, n i was so bad at scales and arpeggios, just hate them so much, lol!

Leave a comment